Posted in Projectile

Twin Toppers

My husband works with a guy who just adopted twin girls. Since it’s so freaking cold right now in our part of the world, I thought it would be nice to make them a pair of cute baby hats.

I found a lovely pattern online, called “Ellen’s Ruffled Hat“. Sticking with the pattern, I used size 8 DPNs and a worsted weight wool/acrylic blend of yarn, specifically Plymouth’s Encore Colorspun Worsted in colorway #7123. Unfortunately, the yarn card online doesn’t do this colorway justice. There are more peachy and cream hues than grey, and it looks much more baby (and girlie) than the card sample. Trust me. It’s very adorable, and without being nauseatingly pink or pastelly.

The hats worked up surprisingly quickly. I finished them in about three and a half evenings. I got some cream-colored narrow ribbon to weave through the eyelets and tied a simple bow for flourish.

IMG_5881

I wanted to see how the hats would look on a baby, but mine are a little too big to model these. So I borrowed the next best thing- a baby doll.

IMG_5888

This was also useful for weaving the ribbon and leaving enough slack for the hat to stretch over a wee little head.

IMG_5895

IMG_5898

This was a really nice little project, and I’m grateful for the pattern. I hope more acquaintances have babies so I can make more of these cute little buggers.

Hmm. Maybe I should just try to resize the pattern for me own head.

Leave a Reply

