Posted in Projectile

On A Roll: Textured Crochet Cloth

Wow. Two FOs in two days. What is this world coming to?

Actually, it’s deadlines that we’re coming to. If it weren’t for the last minute, I’d never get anything done.

Tomorrow, my older daughter is going to her first dance recital. I thought it would be nice [for her, via moi] to give her teacher a little gift. Come on: anyone who spends thirty minutes, five or six times a week, with three- and four- and five-year olds deserves a gift, even if she is getting paid for it. Hence, we have Ms. Virginia’s Textured Crochet Cloth.

I opted for crochet because, this being the last minute and all, I needed something that would work up fast. Crochet goes faster than knitting, unless you totally suck at it. It does use more yarn, and the fabric is generally thicker, but I made this cloth in just a couple of hours this evening, so it’s all good.

Using some Bernat Handicrafter Cotton from my stash, and a 4.00 mm hook, I chained 37 stitches and then worked a single row of sc across, starting with the second chain from the hook, for a total of 36 working stitches. To start the next row, I did a ch-1, turn, and then worked a sc in each sc crochet across. However, to give it a little more “complicated” look and a textured feel, I worked the odd stitches through the back loops and the even stitches through the front loops. Repeat this across the row, ch-1, turn, and do it all over again. And again. And… well, keep going, until it looks like a nice cloth.

IMG_8816

To finish, I did a row of sc across the last row, then chained about 15 stitches. Work another sc in the last sc (the one before the chain) to make a loop, then work one more sc in that same stitch to round the corner.

IMG_8817

Turn the work sideways and sc evenly across the edge. Work another 36 sc along the foundation chain’s edge, add two more sc in the last sc to turn the corner, and sc evenly across the other selvedge to the beginning of the last regular working row. Finish off, weave in the pesky ends, block, make a nice little gift tag, and… voilà! One I-Love-You-Teacher giftie, all ready for giving.

IMG_8815

IMG_8813

Random Note:
If you’re actually thinking of making this, and my instructions don’t seem to make sense along with these pictures, it’s because the cloth is turned over and you’re looking at what’s technically the “wrong” side. The loop on my cloth was actually in the top-left corner on the working side. This cloth is fully reversible, and I didn’t really pay attention to how I was photographing it until just now…

Leave a Reply

