Posted in Uncategorized

Weez’s Lucy Blanket

We have become close friends with a guy who works with my husband. The guy and his wife, Weez, just became grandparents for the first time about a month ago when the guy’s son and daughter-in-law had a baby girl. The parents named her Lucy, and I made this blanket for Grandma Weez to keep for when Lucy visits them.

I did this in crochet with some stashed Bernat Softee Baby yarn that I bought for just this purpose- an emergency baby gift. Well, it wasn’t really an emergency, but it sure was nice to be able to go into the stash and pull out some yarn and get started in the middle of the night.

Weez's Lucy Blanket

I found the pattern on Bernat’s website after looking there for a baby blanket pattern that was suited for this yarn. Overall, I’m pleased with the pattern and the yarn, but there are a few minor things that I found annoying.

First off, the yarn is a variegated pink, purple and white. When I first started the body of the blanket, the colors worked themselves into vertical stripes. About a third of the way through the blanket, however, the stripes switched to a pattern of roughly diagonal splotches. Both patterns look nice, but together, they look like I made a mistake (or changed my mind) partway through.

Weez's Lucy Blanket 2

The other thing I didn’t like about this yarn was that the skeins were horribly tangly for commercial center-pull balls. All three that I pulled ended up in giant knots. Also, the third skein (of which I only used about 3 yards) felt like it was coated in the same stuff they put on dryer sheets. It was slightly coarse, not soft and fluffy like the first two. It also felt like it was a heavier weight- more like a worsted than a sport/baby weight. Fortunately, it’s not noticeable in the final project.

I loved the pattern, however. The blanket body is simple and made up of V stitches (DC, ch2, DC in same st) across. It then has a simple five-row lace border. The border makes a slight ruffle, but it lies fairly flat so as not to be obnoxious.

IMG_9242

I think the variegated yarn looks swell in the border, too.  And I love the little picots.

Lace Border detail

Here’s hoping Lucy (and Weez) will agree.

Corner Detail

Pattern available on Bernat’s website, here. Please note that you must be a registered member (it’s free to register) of Bernat.com in order to download the pattern.

Leave a Reply

